I Love Fedora

I did a little reading and I think Fedora is considered more secure.  I figured out how to add OpenOffice and GIMP.  Yay! I successfully installed both and they seem to be working.  I, of course, have no idea what they can do.  I had been using Windows Word for word processing.  Years ago, I liked word, but the latest one I didn’t.  I originally learned photo manipulation in Photoshop, but that was years ago.  On vista, I had been using Photoscape.  It is a free and easy to use photo manipulation package.  I really liked it.  It was quick to learn and quick to operate.

Now, I get to learn all new software.  I am really excited to have gotten these programs to work on my own.  I couldn’t have installed Fedora on my own, and am so glad to have a friend who knows computers well enough to jump right into this with me.

There are only 2 points that haven’t transfered yet.  One, I use Toggl to track my activities and I can’t get the offline tool to install.  I think it is a matter of waiting for it to show up in my repositories.  I can live without it for now, but I do need to work offline sometimes.  And two, I was using Windows’ Live Writer to do blog posts offline.  I just installed an add-on for Firefox called Scribefire and BlogTK.  I will try both and see what happens.

And I can’t print to my Dell Ink jet.  That’s a bummer.  I will save up some money and buy a printer.

I have been using Fedora for 2 days now.  I really, really like it.  It is faster on all counts and looks more appealing.   If you are at all in a position to switch to Linux, you should.  I am glad I did.

Leave a Reply

