Blogging

I am very new to blogging.  I started Thanksgiving day.  WordPress has a tag surfer feature that I have been using to peruse crafting blogs.  I haven’t left any comments yet, but I have been tempted a few times.  I’m just not sure how much I want to put myself out there.  I started Misha’s Needle to document my crafting.  I had to start Misha’s World to broaden my topic base.  I am going to try initially to something in both blogs everyday.  After they are established, I hopefully will be able to do an every other day for each.

I am very lucky to be able to blog at all.  Our Saint Louis Public Library has a summer reading contest my mom and I always enter.  Everyone who reads 10 books and turns in a form gets a totebag or umbrella and entry into the drawing for prizes.  I won Cardinals baseball tickets 2 years in a row! This year I won nothing, but my mom won this laptop computer I am using to blog.  We did not currently have a computer.  I have tried to teach her how to use it, but she didn’t like it and refuses to play with it.  She said it is mine to do with as I see fit.

Uberlucky, because there are 2 unsecured networks I can use anywhere in my house including my basement, which is where my crafting stuff is located!  We got the computer at the end of August and I have been surfing ever since.  I had access to a computer before this, so I didn’t feel deprived.  But internet access whenever I want is something I haven’t had since 2000.

I haven’t had a computer for 5 years.  I have never had a cell phone or cable.  I can’t justify paying for commercials and I get enough tv from broadcast to satisfy myself.  A cell phone is something I want, but have survived this long without one.  One reason I don’t have one is that I am NOT a phone talker.  I might spend a total of 2 hours max on the phone per month – usually closer to one hour. I looked into getting one to replace our landline and the cheapest one can get monthly is ~30 bucks, which means I’d be paying over 25 cents per minute! Too much!  And a pay-as-you-go option isn’t really better.  Eventually, I’ll have one, but not at this time.

The computer we won is a Dell Latitude.  It has wifi, but not blu-tooth?!  A tiny hard drive – It is not the best computer, but as a freebie, It Rocks!

Leave a Reply

